Skip to main content Skip to navigation
The Foley Institute for Public Policy and Public Service

Foley Community Advisory Board

In 2020, the institute established a community advisory board, with the aim of developing a strategic development plan for the institute and helping it extend the reach and visibility of its programs.

Chaired by former Spokane Mayor David Condon, the other board members by start year are:

2020: Rich Cowan, President, North by Northwest Productions; Marcia Garrett, retired; Nancy Isserlis, Former Spokane City Attorney, member of the Washington PDC; Tim Peckinpaugh, Partner, K&L Gates; Lambert van der Walde, Vice President, UnitedHealth Group; and Howard Wright III, Chairman Seattle Hospitality Group, and former Foley intern.

2022: David Ammons, political journalist; Gretchen Bakamis, President/owner of Bcommunications, and former staffer/ intern for Congressman Foley; David Mastin, Vice President of Government Affairs at the Association of Washington Business; Lynn Mounsey, attorney, and former Foley intern; George Nethercutt, former Congressman, represented by his son, Elliott Nethercutt; and Gary Stokes, President & General Manager of KSPS-TV.

2023: John Allison, attorney and former KXLY broadcaster; Kiantha Duncan, author, activist, and former President of Spokane NAACP; Pat Dunn, Olympia lobbyist; Bill Maxey, attorney and former clerk for Judge Foley; Michael Ormsby, former U.S. Attorney, and former Spokane City Attorney; Sharon Ortiz, ED of WA Human Rights Commission; Sam Reed, former WA Secretary of State.

Board chair David Condon said, “I know first-hand the impact that Speaker Tom Foley has had not only for Eastern Washington but for our country. The institute that bears his name is an extraordinary asset to WSU and the citizens who endeavor to engage with our fragile democracy. It is for these reasons that I have joined with the institute to expands its programs and presence.”